The area of ​​the first Croatian transboundary biosphere reserve, in our country, includes entire streams of the Mura and Drava rivers that have been protected in the category of regional park last February, the Danube river and Kopački rit Nature Park. It extends through 6 northern counties (Međimurje, Varaždin, Koprivnica-Križevci, Virovitica-Podravina, Osijek-Baranja and Vukovar-Srijem counties) on an area of ​​395.860.7 ha. In Hungary it also covers the areas along the Mura, Drava and Danube, and includes the Hungarian Natura 2000 sites and the Danube – Drava National Park.